ONCE UPON A FAIRY TALE: CHAPTER 13

Chapter 13

She was shown in by Mr. Wayne and waiting in the dining room were the future Mr. and Mrs. Westland. Even the mere thought of it made her shudder. She began to pull out a chair for herself, “Allow me”, said Daniel. They sat down to eat and well, though Louise did most of the talking, it was probably enough for the both of them. “I hope I am not straining your attention”. “Oh of course not” said Mira. “I have been meaning to ask you a question”, said Louise.  “Oh please do ask”, said Mira. “I want you to be my maid of honour,  Mira?”. She felt the food choking her food pipe. “Me, but why, I mean I’d definitely enjoy doing it but still”. “I just think that you are a great woman with lots of brains and apparently great persuasive powers, so you’d help me if I’d get cold feet”. “I don’t quite follow you ma’am” . “Oh come on, I was joking, but it is actually the way you handled Daniel through his tough times,  I think he’d really want you to be there,  won’t you Daniel?”, she said looking at Daniel. “Yes, sure, just excuse me for a minute ladies”. When he left, “Moreover, I’d like you to see, up and close, that man being taken away from someone to whom he never belonged to me, if I were you lady I’d keep off the grass”, and she and suddenly the soft smile vanished to give way to and expression that could just mean ‘Back off’ . “Oh Daniel please persuade, Ms. Pirzada to stay a bit longer, she is asking for her leave”, Louise became her original self in seconds as Daniel came in. All Mira could do was stare in horror and just say “Oh please ma’am I really need to go, good night”.
__________________________________________________

Finally the day came, the day she had been dreading of . But some part of her still believed in him, he’d say no to the wedding and come back to her. She dressed in a beautiful gown,  though Louise was surely a bitch but she had a great taste in clothes. All accumulated at this huge church in South Wales, Daniel had taken her around a lot but this place was completely unknown to her.
Rook came into her room, “They are going to begin any minute, come on”. It had taken a huge effort to ensure that Rook came, he had refused to be a part of the wedding and Daniel had asked him to be his best man. But Mira asked him once and he agreed to be a groomsman,  that was the most he was going to do.

They all came into the waiting room, she went to Daniel one last time and just said “Congratulations and you look really handsome today, and thank you for going for a straight fit, any other style makes you look like, like someone who belongs to me”, she smiled. “What, he caught her roughly by the arm, I always have and will belong to you, you get that”, she smiled again. “Hey, hey big brother, congoz”, he hugged his elder brother, then he saw Mira, beautiful as the sunrise, “And hello madam, Christopher Westland”, he took Mira’s hand and kissed it, “Have we met before?”, he asked rather innocently while walking her to another side of the room. “Oh I think I’d remember”, said Mira, “Big brother you say, how come I never saw you before”, asked Mira. ” Oh I always have been overseas and well board meetings always have bored me. I am the Best Man and I take it that you are the Maid of Honour”. The music inviting the groom played and Christopher said ” You ready”, and they left.

They now stood at the altar saying their vows, finally the priest asked, “Do you, Louise Anne Armston take Daniel Seymour Westland as your lawfully wedded husband in sickness and in health? “, “I do” said Louise rather impatiently, “Do you Daniel Seymour Westland take Louise Anne Armston to be your lawfully wedded wife in sickness and in health?”. Both Mira and Louise hung on the words that were about to be uttered by Daniel. He carefully weighed in balance the things that were at stake.

4 thoughts on “ONCE UPON A FAIRY TALE: CHAPTER 13

Leave a Reply

