Raees v. Kaabil

The showdown happened this Republic Day. So while I had one eye on the parade, the other on my phone trying to book my tickets to Raees. After one failed attempt at the same, I reached the seventh heaven when I finally got them, I was watching an SRK movie in the theater after so long, I can’t even remember.

But it seems like the entire world was waiting for the showoff between Kaabil and Raees. Well, I was not. I mean an SRK movie is hitting the screens and why will I think about anything else, even if it the actor who is hyped as the Indian who could be Bond. I agree there is a clear bias when I write this post but I sat down to think about it,

Now, I agree there is a clear bias when I write this post but I sat down to think about it, was Kaabil really better than Raees as many touted it to be? Kaabil is a slow movie. It uses the entire first half for romance and oh god did it get boring, sorry for not being one for cheesy romantic. Even post interval when it was supposed to be a thriller, it was slow as death. Moreover, the whole thing about dubbing human voices, um, um. I like the fact that the voices still had a touch of Hrithik’s voice but still very implausible, actually the entire second half is. The flaw is not that fact that Hrithik is blind and thus could not have done what he did but the fact that for me the standards of a perfect crime is Drishyam. The way Hrithik committed the murders were not ‘the perfect time’ even by a close shave. In short, bahut bhaav khaya yaar.

There were a few similarities between the two movies, though.

  1. Both didn’t have the most amazing stories. Raees was a generic rags-to-riches story of a gangster who took up the next profession in the career graph i.e. that of a politician. Kaabil, I felt it was Badlapur part two. But the acting in the both the movies took the stories to a different level and this was true for very actor in the movies, sheer brilliance.
  2. The portrayal of women was a problem in both. Yami gives up her job and takes a life completely dependent on Hrithik and then kills herself because she was unhappy about the course their married life will take and the shame and trouble Hrithik will have to face in life. Then, of course, the fact that she was willing to go away from his life because she was ‘not the same’ for Hrithik. And why was Mahira even in Raees? She was the moll who was actually just needed for the two songs, which are really awesome by the way, and the last scene because the husband will have to come to save the wife.
  3. And this is a very funny observation but the guy who plays the police officer in Kaabil is also the guy who plays godfather to Raees, Musa.

 

Raees was better, period.

Leave a Reply

